Apple on Thursday seeded the first betas of upcoming iOS 17.4 and iPadOS 17.4 betas to developers, and the software revealed a panoply of changes that will impact users in the European Union in order to comply with the Digital Markets Act (DMA).

Apple implemented several major changes to the way the App Store and apps operate in the EU in order to comply with the DMA. These changes are included in iOS 17.4, but are limited to countries that are in the European Economic Area.

Apple is working towards a March 6 deadline to make the changes live for users who update to iOS 17.4. Below, we’ve summarized what will change for affected users and the reasons that Apple has offered for said changes, along with some related news.

  • Alternative App Stores: App developers in the EU can opt to offer alternative app stores or install their apps through alternative stores, and Apple has a new fee structure as part of the change. Any developer can create an app marketplace, so long as they meet Apple’s criteria for customer experience, fraud prevention, customer support, and more.
  • Alternative Payment Options: Apple is allowing apps to use alternative payment options, and there is no longer a requirement to use in-app purchases. Developers can integrate these into their app, or developers can link out to their websites where users can make a purchase.
  • App Store Notarization: Apple has outlined how Apps that are distributed through alternative app stores in EU countries will need to submit to a notarization process that’s similar to the notarization process for Mac apps.
  • Screen Time and Refund Limitations:: Apple says apps distributed through alternative app stores won’t work with some…